So true story, I was raised in a Black nationalist polygamist cult. But that’s not the point of this post.

This post is about how people are trash. Men in particular are trash. Women are also trash, especially those women who use their trashness to get chose by trash men. Anyone regardless of gender identity can be trash. That was my grand takeaway from being raised in a cult.*

And yes even your favorite celebrity. Exhibit A:

A fifth woman, who spoke on condition of anonymity to protect her family’s privacy because she has not been publicly linked to the incident with Louis C.K., also has disturbing memories about an incident with the comedian. In the late ’90s, she was working in production at “The Chris Rock Show” when Louis C.K., a writer and producer there, repeatedly asked her to watch him masturbate, she said. She was in her early 20s and went along with his request, but later questioned his behavior.”

This takedown isn’t just of CK, but everyone in his circle, like Chris Rock who had a show on HBO where one of his staff members masturbated in front of a young woman!

But on One Mississippi, Tig Notaro’s wonderful show on Amazon Prime, she wrote a storyline into the show to shame CK and HE EXECUTIVE PRODUCED HER SHOW!

In the new season of Tig Notaro’s Amazon series, “One Mississippi,” a progressive radio station programmer dogged by rumors of sexual misconduct invites a female employee to his office for a meeting, where he masturbates behind the desk while she talks.

If this scene evokes internet rumors about Louis C.K. — an executive producer of “One Mississippi” — it’s because a recent interview with Ms. Notaro encourages that reading. She said that he now has nothing to do with the series and that he “should handle” the accusations, which had been reported by Gawker and singled out by Roseanne Barr.

Tig is my shero (Side note: I saw her a few weeks ago and I audibly gasped. I kept it together though cuz I was with fancy people who don’t fangirl out at the sight of their sheroes). She acted remarkably and we should all take her lead.

This isn’t about celebrity though. I started this by saying I know people are trash because I experienced their trashness being raised in a cult. We all reproduce similar power dynamics in our own circles that leave some vulnerable. And as I live my life, intentionally seeking to unlearn behaviors that were rewarded from my cult life, I pay close attention to power structures that sacrifice vulnerable people to the whims of those with power. And hopefully each day I get better at being safe for those I encounter who are being victimized. And i get more and more like Tig, calling muthafuckas OUT!

*The other takeaway is that if you are anywhere and diversity of thought is not encouraged RUN FOR YOUR LIFE!