There is no sport I love more than football. So the likelihood that I’m gonna stop watching games next season because Colin Kaepernick is seemingly blacklisted by all 32 teams in the NFL is not gonna happen. 

If you’ve read through much of this blog you likely understand that there are very few things that I truly enjoy. Football is on that list. And it’s not like I’m blind to all of the fucked up shit that comes with loving football. 

For one, the NFL commissioner, Roger Goodell, is a power hungry asshat of the highest order. Each game there is the very real possibility that a concussed player can die on the field in the middle of the game. There is a total and complete lack of understanding that women are people who deserve to be paid (cheerleaders) and should not be abused (Josh Brown).  There’s also the draconian policy toward marijuana.  I could go on. 

With all of this, football season is the happiest time of my year. My attraction to sport has always been the ways in which sports act as a microcosm of the rest of the world. That includes what is going on with Kaep. 

So yes I will continue watching football. Not only because I love football, also because boycotting is shortsighted.  You wanna raise some funds for a collusion suit? I can make some time to hear the logic behind that. 

But a boycott? No.  I still plan on running my Ladies’ First fantasy league. And I’m still going to continue saving my money for Sunday Ticket. Shit, I watched all seven rounds of the NFL Draft! It’s too late for me to boycott. 

And you are free to judge me. Just know that everyone (that includes you) has something they love that is contradictory to their professed politics. 

This is life. It’s complicated. And football is a beautiful game. 

