This is probably the nerdiest of weeks in the entire academic year. Pi Day is followed by the Ides of March each school year and I remember the excitement of both my math teachers for Pi Day and my English teachers for the Ides of March. 

I went to a special high school, where many of my teachers had doctorates in the subjects they taught. They were heavily invested in the subject matter and that passion often was contagious. Even the terrifying Dr. Katz, who trolled the south wing on the 6th floor yelling rules during passing was a phenomenal teacher. 

My favorite math teacher was Ms. Brady, who due to a car crash had a raspy voice that didn’t allow her to yell. As rambunctious ninth graders we came to class always ready and excited. We loved her so much that we even made up an operations dance in her honor. 

There was Mr. Bonsignore, who was actually Dr. Bonsignore but was way too chill to have us call him that. He was classy and made me love vocabulary, my least favorite part of English class. Macbeth came alive in his classroom, I still remember him pacing the rows in his classroom reading Shakespeare as if he wrote it. 

Teachers like these have stayed with me all these years. I celebrate Pi Day every single year on March 14. Sometimes I even remember to celebrate on July 22, when the rest of the world celebrates Pi Day (22/7 is the fraction form of 3.14…). 

Each year I wake up thinking ‘Beware the Ides of March’ on March 15, the famous Julius Caesar line predicting Caesar’s murder. When I visited the Globe Theater in London I walked around thinking about the Ides of March, and the three witches from Macbeth and all of the time spent memorizing monologues from Shakespeare as a high school student. 

I feel bad for kids these days who don’t have the opportunity to deep dive into the material they are to learn because they take so many tests, they have so few skills, and/or they have such terrible teachers. It’s a pity. 

Cheers to all the nerds and our fun Pi Day celebrations and Ides of March jokes! May our celebrations be so enormous that we reach even those kids not so fortunate to have great teachers. 

